FOOD FOR LIFE志願者是公認的 無私的奉獻,同情心和勇敢。

在格羅茲尼,薩拉熱窩和蘇呼米的戰鬥中,“生命之糧”在那裡。 為海地,亞美尼亞,俄羅斯和印度的地震受害者服務—生命之糧在那裡; 在西孟加拉邦的洪水,尼泊爾的地震,印度,巴基斯坦,波蘭和菲律賓的洪水中拯救了困苦的村民。 為南非的飢餓兒童以及世界上幾乎每個主要城市的街道上數百萬其他兒童提供食物,生命之糧志願者在那里以純植物性食品為人們提供營養。

頓巴斯戰爭,烏克蘭(2014-2016)

從11/11/2014開始,基於志願者的非營利組織“生命之糧”頓涅茨克一直在為烏克蘭頓涅茨克地區受武裝衝突影響最脆弱的人群提供食物,迄今為止,每週分發約6,000份素食餐服務超過500,000頓飯。
更多
圖片

敘利亞難民 歐洲危機(2015)

來自德國,塞爾維亞,克羅地亞,斯洛文尼亞,巴黎和倫敦的團隊幫助為成千上萬湧入歐洲的難民提供了飯菜。 目前,由於許多邊界關閉,FFL塞爾維亞是唯一剩下的救援隊,但難民每週要吃2至3次純素食餐。
更多
圖片

抗震救災 在尼泊爾(2015)

生命之糧尼泊爾迅速對這場摧毀該地區的大地震作出了反應。 第二天,志願者開始提供素食餐,並繼續騎自行車去偏遠的村莊並當場做飯,以確保他們的同胞和婦女不餓。 在接下來的幾個月中,提供了超過200,000頓飯,並且該計劃一直持續到今天,在學校為小學生提供熱午餐。
更多
圖片

西部洪水 孟加拉(2015)

生命之糧的家有洪水的歷史,今年又發生了大水災,給數百萬人造成了全面破壞和不便。 來自FFL Mayapur的志願者做飯,然後用船將熱的kitchri(蔬菜和燉豆)送達數千。
更多

西部洪水 孟加拉(2015)

生命之糧對災難的獨特貢獻是新鮮烹製的純素食餐。 巴拉蘭大聲說道:“沒有其他機構在這樣做。” 據巴拉蘭姆說,所有其他食品救濟機構都在分發罐頭食品,方便麵和未煮熟的大米。 “生命之糧 prasadam (純素食餐)正在產生巨大影響,並為身體,思想和靈魂提供真正的營養。 我們很高興看到他們在用餐時微笑,這真的觸動我們的心靈,”他告訴我們
更多
圖片

氣旋 菲洛斯(2013)

Food for Life Global 子公司 ISKCON 糧食救濟基金會及其生命之糧Annamrita團隊以30,000份熱素食餐對巨大的颶風做出了回應。

日本 海嘯(2011)

Food for Life Global 子公司FFL Japan向遭受嚴重海嘯襲擊後數月內住在宮城縣地區Wataricho Shiyakysho收容所的倖存者提供了數千公斤的新鮮水果和蔬菜,以及煮熟的素食晚餐。
更多
圖片

巴基斯坦洪水 救濟(2010)

FFL當地分支機構SKBP為來自卡拉奇和海得拉巴各個帳篷城市的數千名難民提供了熱素食。
更多

海地地震

來自世界各地的志願者聚集在這個小島上,與世界糧食計劃署和其他機構合作建立了一個食物廚房。
更多

孟加拉國旋風 救濟(2007)

孟加拉國達卡—十年來最致命的颶風襲擊該地區後,成千上萬的倖存者掙扎。 塵埃落定後不久,由克里希納僧侶和印度商人組成的志願者小組前往庫爾納,巴格哈特,波圖阿卡利和巴里沙爾,為倖存者開展了一些“生命之糧”計劃。 一輛大卡車上裝滿了米飯和Kichuri(燉豆),而志願者們則乘坐兩輛貨車從達卡前往Bagherhat的Sharankhola,這是受颶風影響最嚴重的地方之一。
更多

巴基斯坦地震

來自查mu,阿姆利則,新德里和哈里瓦的“生命之糧”志願者聚集在一起,為最近巴基斯坦地震的受害者提供救濟。 從一個工作 ISKCON 在地震災區內的烏德漢普爾神廟,志願者們向卡車裝載了飲用水,大米,麵包和毯子。 到了新鮮的飯後不久,人們用“生命之糧”做飯,給倖存者餵食,庇護和穿衣。聯邦解放力量救濟隊訪問的一些城鎮是巴拉穆拉,卡普瓦納,卡馬托科特,班迪,坎迪·巴爾賈拉和拉加馬,他們位於山上高處FFL團隊在整個地區旅行,在每一個被拆毀的建築物處停下來並分發食物,帳篷和毯子,他們並肩作戰。 救援隊負責人Navayogendra swami小心翼翼地對待倖存者,讓每個人坐下並贈送了他們需要的所有物資,從老人,婦女和兒童開始。
圖片

卡特里娜颶風和麗塔 救濟(2005)

全球糧食生命組織是800月下旬對卡特里娜颶風災難的第一批響應者之一,它為密西西比州及周邊地區的貧困家庭提供了新鮮的飯菜。 在一個新的團隊為得克薩斯州的兩個颶風倖存者提供熱食後不久,設在休斯敦的``生命之糧''團隊開始為搬遷到避難所的許多流離失所者提供熱食。 每天向德克薩斯州各個避難所中的颶風倖存者提供XNUMX頓飯。 所有餐點都是新鮮烹製的,並使用有機素食成分製成。 紅十字會認為FFL膳食是倖存者最好的膳食。
更多
圖片

海嘯救濟,斯里蘭卡, 印度(2004)

40年來最強烈的地震引發了一連串致命的海嘯浪潮,徹底摧毀了印度尼西亞,斯里蘭卡,印度,馬來西亞和其他附近島嶼的沿海地區,造成近200,000​​萬人喪生。生命之糧迅速作出反應,提供了救濟在災難發生的當天,為有需要的人們提供支持和熱素食。 僅在斯里蘭卡,科倫坡Bhaktivedanta Gokulam孤兒院每天就為孤兒提供10,000多餐飯菜,以及醫療,衣服和庇護所。
更多
圖片

地震中 古吉拉特邦(2001)

根據美國地質調查局,最強烈的地震發生在里氏7.9級,發生在當地時間上午8:46。 地震發生在印第安人慶祝該國成立51週年之際,這是一個紀念採用憲法的公共假日。 與美國的公共假期一樣,強震發生後,政府辦公室和大多數企業也關閉了。 在古吉拉特邦的Anjur鎮(人口為90,000),在共和國日遊行中行走時,大約400名學童及其老師被大量倒塌的磚石覆蓋。 130多位“生命之糧”志願者(包括50名醫生和護士)在災區建立了臨時醫院和食物分發營地。
更多
圖片

莫桑比克, 2000年XNUMX月

莫桑比克上空連續下了暴雨,造成了1997年有史以來最大的洪災。 在接下來的三年中,整個村莊都被水淹沒,莊稼被毀,耕地變得無法使用。 有些人不得不在屋頂和樹木上避難–一位女士甚至在樹上生了一個孩子! 生命之糧像往常一樣在那裡乘船帶給村民,在幾個月的時間內,為成千上萬人提供了各種熱食,所有熱食都在FFL臨時廚房帳篷現場準備。
圖片

奧里薩邦 印度(1999)

巨大的超級旋風衝過奧里薩邦沿海,帶走了260英尺的潮汐,風速高達20,000 kmph,導致椰子的飛行速度幾乎與子彈一樣快! 這場災難殺死了1萬多名村民,摧毀了數十萬英畝的耕地和牲畜,並使奧里薩邦(Orissa)的40,000萬人民無家可歸,飢餓和茫然。 生命之糧能夠為有需要的人分發超過一百萬份素食,XNUMX瓶水,毯子,衣服和急救方法。

尼加拉瓜,中部 美國(1998)

在毀滅性的颶風“米奇”席捲整個加勒比海地區後不久,成千上萬的人發現自己無家可歸,沒有食物。 救濟機構遷入建立臨時住房,提供衣物和食物。 生命之糧還通過每天為數千人提供新鮮烹製的素食餐點,為大規模的救濟工作做出了貢獻。

伊爾庫茨克 西伯利亞(1997)

一架巨大的俄羅斯軍用運輸機週六墜毀在一個公寓樓內,炸死機上至少23人,地面上多達120名平民。 飛機突然起火,使附近其他建築物起火。 來自伊爾庫茨克和烏蘭烏德的當地生命食品志願者立即行動起來,在附近的廚房裡煮熟的純素食餐。 向災民和救援人員提供了800多頓全餐的稀飯,燉的蔬菜,新鮮的麵包和茶,他們在25攝氏度(零下13華氏度)的霜凍中努力工作。 該計劃持續了許多天,直到所有倖存者都安全健康。 事件發生後,俄羅斯的“生命之糧”緊急救援活動繼續擴大,並已成為該地區領先的非政府組織。
圖片

捷克布拉格 共和國(1997)

最近歷史上最嚴重的毀滅性洪水淹沒了捷克共和國的三分之一。 成千上萬的房屋被完全摧毀,數千人不得不搬遷。 來自布拉格的“生命之糧”志願者前往受災地區,為無家可歸者提供熱食。 在當地學校的廚房裡,他們準備了燉菜,並在接下來的幾週內為數千人提供了服務。

弗羅茨瓦夫, 波蘭,(1997年)

在兩週內,1997年波蘭大部分地區遭受大水災之後,成千上萬的人被困。“幾乎沒有可用的干淨飲用水,在某些地方也沒有天然氣,”指揮生命之糧的Madhyadvipa Das解釋說在波蘭,這一直是該國的主要糧食救濟。 志願者在整個城市的麵包車上供應熱湯和三明治,有時甚至還使用小船到達滯留的人群。 數万人被餵飽了。
圖片

格羅茲尼, 車臣(1995)

自從11年1995月2日開始在這個脫離共和國的俄羅斯平叛運動開始以來,來自莫斯科和聖彼得堡的“生命之糧”志願者就冒著生命危險,要為2萬碗熱粥,新鮮出爐的麵包和茶服務給當地居民 該項目在一個廢棄的學校廚房中進行,並持續了XNUMX年。 《紐約時報》報導:“…這裡的名聲與特蕾莎修女的一位母親在加爾各答一樣:找人發誓說他們是聖人並不難。”
更多
圖片

薩哈林 俄羅斯(1995)

這場7.2級的地震平平了俄羅斯遠東半島的這座小城市。 第二天,“生命之糧”志願者被俄羅斯緊急事務部乘直升飛機送來,為全天候尋找屍體的倖存者和救援隊提供熱食。

薩拉熱窩 波斯尼亞(1994)

這個曾經美麗的前南斯拉夫旅遊小鎮是最近最嚴重的衝突之一。 ISKCON 成員在薩拉熱窩有一座廟宇,在整個戰鬥中,他們冒著生命危險,將新鮮的麵包和餅乾運送給躲在佈滿彈子的公寓中的婦女和兒童。
更多

西孟加拉邦瑪雅普爾 (每年)

每隔1-2年,著名的恒河就會氾濫到西孟加拉邦,造成巨大破壞,並奪去許多生命。 在這樣的洪水中,“生命之糧”志願者即使站在一英尺深的水中,也要用200加侖的大鍋煮熱的kichri(素食燉菜),然後將食物運到船上,送給飢餓難堪的村民在屋頂上等待。 恒河洪水是一年一度的活動,因此志願者在潛在洪水發生前的幾週就做好了準備,並能夠像1974年“生命之糧”計劃開始時那樣立即做出反應。
圖片

阿布哈茲SUKHUMI – FSU, (1992到1994)

一小撮名為“藏紅花貝雷帽”的“生命之糧”志願者留在這座飽受轟炸的城市中,經常冒著生命危險將熱卡紮帶到戰鬥雙方。 他們的中立與和平贏得了兩軍挽救生命的士兵的心。 該程序一直持續到今天。 已提供超過XNUMX萬份餐點。
圖片

印度拉圖爾

大規模地震摧毀了該鎮,造成20,000萬人喪生。 數小時之內,孟買(孟買)的“生命之糧”志願者在現場為倖存者提供了熱食和衣物。 提供了60,000頓飯。

捐贈

捐贈給 Food for Life Global 緊急基金,在必要時幫助FFLG協調救災工作。

Emergency Relief

FOOD FOR LIFE volunteers are recognized for their selfless dedication, compassion, and bravery. Throughout the fighting in Grozny, Sarajevo and Sukhumi — Food for Life was there; attending to earthquake victims in Haiti, Armenia, Russia and India — Food for Life was there; saving stranded villagers during floods in West Bengal, Pakistan, Poland and the Philippines — Food for Life was there; feeding hungry children in South Africa and the millions of others in the streets of nearly every major city of the world Food for Life volunteers are there nourishing people with pure plant-based meals.

Donate to the Food for Life Global Emergency Fund

The following is a list of most of the disasters Food for Life has responded to:

Typhoon Haiyan Relief (2013)

Food for Life in PhilippinesFood for Life’s unique contribution to the disaster is their freshly cooked vegan meals. “No other agency is doing this,” exclaimed Balaram. According to Balaram, all other food relief agencies are distributing canned goods, instant noodles and uncooked rice. “Food for Life’s prasadam (sanctified vegan meals) are making a huge impact and providing real nourishment for body, mind and soul. We are so happy seeing them smiling while they take our meals, it really touches our hearts,” he told us. Read more…

Cyclone Phillus (2013)

Food for Life Global affiliate ISKCON Food Relief Foundation and its Food for Life Annamrita team responded to the massive cyclone with 30,000 hot vegan meals.

Japan Tsunami (2011)

watari-cho19Food for Life Global affiliate FFL Japan provided thousands of kgs of fresh fruits and vegetables, as well as cooked vegetarian dinners to survivors living in shelters in Wataricho Shiyakysho in the Miyagi-ken district for many months following the devastating tsunami. More

Pakistan Flood Relief (2010)

Local FFL affiliate SKBP provided hot vegan meals to thousands of refugees at various tent cities in Karachi and Hyderabad. More

Haiti Earthquake (2010)

Volunteers from all over the world converged on the small island to set up a food kitchen in cooperation with the World Food Programme and other agences. More

Bangladesh Cyclone Relief (November 2007)

DHAKA, Bangladesh — Hundreds of thousands of survivors struggled after the deadliest cyclone to hit the area in a decade. Soon after the dust settled, a team of volunteers consisting of Krishna monks and Indian businessmen traveled to Khulna, Bagherhat, Potuakhali and Barishal to conduct several Food For Life programs for survivors. A large truck was loaded with flat rice and Kichuri (bean stew), while the volunteers traveled overnight in two vans from Dhaka to Sharankhola, Bagherhat which is one of the most affected places by the cyclone. More…

Pakistan Earthquake (2005)

Food for Life volunteers from Jammu, Amritsar, New Delhi and Harwar came together to provide relief for victims of the recent earthquake in Pakistan. Working from an ISKCON temple in Udhampur, which was within the earthquake-affected region, the volunteers loaded trucks with drinking water, rice, bread, and blankets. Soon after arriving in fresh meals were cooked and survivors were fed, sheltered and clothed by Food for Life.Some of the towns visited by the FFL relief team were, Baramulla, Kapwana, Kamalkot, Bandi, Kandi Barjalaand Lagama situated high up in the hills where the most sever devastation took place.Local military and police worked side by side the FFL team as they traveled all over the region stopping at every demolished structure and distributing food, tents and blankets. Leader of the relief team, Navayogendra swami was careful to treat the survivors respectfully, sitting everyone down and gifting all the supplies they needed, starting with the elderly, women and children. More

Katrina and Rita Relief (2005)

Food For Life Global, was one of the first responders to the Hurricane Katrina disaster in late August, by providing freshly cooked meals to needy families in Mississippi and the surrounding area. Soon after a new team were serving hot meals to survivors of both Hurricanes in Texas.A Food for Life team based in Houston began serving hot meals to the many displaced victims who had been relocated to shelters. Up to 800 meals were served daily to Hurricane survivors located in various shelters throughout Texas. All the meals were freshly cooked and made with organic vegan ingredients. The Red Cross considered FFL meals to be the best available to survivors. More

Tsunami Relief, Sri Lanka, India (2004)

The strongest earthquake in 40 years set off a string of killer Tsunami waves that utterly devastated the coastal areas of Indonesia, Sri Lanka, India, Maylasia and other nearby islands, killing nearly 200,000 people.Food for Life was quick to respond again, providing relief support and hot vegetarian meals to needy people on the same day of the disaster. In Sri Lanka alone more than 10,000 meals were being provided daily, along with medical care, clothing, and shelter for orphanded children at the Bhaktivedanta Gokulam orphanage in Colombo.

Earthquake in Gujarat, January (2001)

The strongest earthquake, measuring 7.9 on the Richter scale, occurred at 8:46 AM local time, according to the United States Geological Survey. The earthquakes struck while Indians were celebrating the country’s 51st Republic Day, a public holiday commemorating the adoption of the constitution. As with public holidays in the United States, government offices and most businesses were closed when the powerful quakes struck. In the Gujarat town of Anjur (population: 90,000), about 400 schoolchildren and their teachers were covered by tons of falling masonry while walking in a Republic Day parade. More than 130 Food for Life volunteers, including 50 doctors and nurses set up a temporary hospital and food distribution camps in the most devastated areas. More…

Mozambique, February, (2000)

Torrential rains poured continuously fell over Mozambique causing the biggest flood in its history in 1997. The damage was severe. Entire villages were covered by water, crops destroyed and arable land rendered unusable for the next three years. Some people had to take refuge on roof tops and trees – one lady even gave birth to a child on a tree! Food for Life was there as usual bringing vegan stew by boat to the villagers and over a period of a few months, served tens of thousands of people a variety of hot meals all prepared on site at the FFL makeshift kitchen tent.

Orissa, India, (1999)

A massive super cyclone crashed through coastal Orissa, bringing with it twenty-five foot tidal waves and wind speeds of up to 260 kmph, causing coconuts to fly nearly as fast as bullets! The aftermath killed more than 20,000 villagers, destroyed hundreds of thousands of acres of cropland and cattle, and left more than 1 million of Orissa’s people homeless, hungry and dazed. Food for Life was able to distribute more than one million vegetarian meals, 40,000 bottles of water, blankets, clothes, and first aid treatment to the needy. More…

Nicaragua, Central America (1998)

Soon after the devastating hurricane “Mitch” ripped through most of the Caribean, hundreds of thousands of people found themselves homeless and without food. Relief agencies moved in to set up temporary housing, provide clothing and food. Food for Life also contributed to the massive relief efforts by providinf freshly cooked vegetarian meals to thousands daily.

Irkutsk, Siberia (1997)

A huge Russian military transport plane crashed into an apartment block Saturday, killing at least 23 people on board and as many as 120 civilians on the ground. The plane burst into a ball of fire, setting other nearby buildings ablaze. Local Food for Life volunteers from Irkutsk and Ulan-Ude immediately got into action, providing hot vegan meals cooked in their nearby kitchen. More than 800 full meals of porridge, stewed vegetables, fresh bread and tea were supplied to victims and rescue workers, who worked hard during the 25 Celsius (minus 13 Fahrenheit) frost. The program continued for many days until all survivors were safe and healthy. Food for Life emergency relief in Russia continued to expand after this incident and has gone on to become a leading NGO in the region.

Prague, Czech Republic (1997)

Devastating floods, the worst in recent history, submerged one third of the Czech Republic. Thousands of people had to be relocated as tens of thousands of homes were completely destroyed. Food for Life volunteers from Prague went out to the afflicted areas to provide hot food to the homeless. Using the kitchen of a local school they prepared vegetable stew and served thousands of people over the following weeks.

Wroclaw, Poland, (1997)

For two weeks tens of thousands of people were stranded after massive floods devastated most of Poland in 1997. “There is hardly any clean drinking water available, and in some places, no gas either,” explains Madhyadvipa Das, who directs Food for Life in Poland and which has been the main food relief in the country. ” Volunteers served hot soup and sandwiches from their vans throughout the city and on occasion even used small boats to reach stranded people. Tens of thousands of people were fed.

GROZNY, Chechnya, (1995)

Since the beginning of the Russian counterinsurgency campaign into this breakaway republic, that began on Dec. 11, 1995, Food for Life volunteers from Moscow and St Petersburg risked their lives to serve up to 2 million bowls of hot porridge, freshly baked bread and tea to the local residents. The project operated out of an abandoned school kitchen and continued for 2 years. The New York Times reported:”… here they have a reputation like the one mother Teresa has in Calcutta: it’s not hard finding someone to swear they are saints.”  Read More… – To read the New York Times article in full.

SAKHALIN, Russia (1995)

An earthquake measuring 7.2 flattened this small city in the far eastern peninsula of Russia. The following day, Food for Life volunteers were flown in by helicopter by the Russian Emergency Ministry, to provide hot food to survivors and rescue teams who worked around the clock to find bodies.

SARAJEVO, Bosnia, (1994)

This once beautiful tourist town of former Yugoslavia, was the site of one of the most vicious conflicts in recent times. ISKCON members have a temple in Sarajevo and all throughout the fighting, they risked their lives to deliver fresh bread and cookies to women and children hiding in bullet-riddled apartments. Read More

MAYAPURA, West Bengal (annually)

The famous Ganges river floods West Bengal every 1-2 years causing massive devastation and claiming many lives. During such floods, Food for Life volunteers prepare hot kichri (vegetarian stew), using huge 200 gallon woks, even while standing in one foot of water, and carry the food on boats to hungry and distressed villagers awaiting on rooftops. The flooding of the Ganges is an annual event so volunteers ready themselves the weeks prior to potential flooding and able to respond immediately just as they did in 1974 when the Food for Life program began.

SUKHUMI, Abkhazia – FSU, (1992 to 1994)

A small group of Food for Life volunteers called the “Saffron Berets” remained in this shell-shocked city, often risking their lives to bring hot kasha to the needy on both sides of the fighting. Their neutrality and peacefulness won the hearts of soldiers from both armies who spared their lives. The program continues to this day. Over two million meals have been served.

LATUR, India (1994)

A massive earthquake devastated this town, killing 20,000. Within hours, Food for Life volunteers from Mumbai (Bombay), were on the spot, with hot food and clothing for the survivors. 60,000 meals were served.

DONATE

Donate to the Food for Life Global emergency fund to help FFLG coordinate disaster relief when the need arises.
Share and Enjoy:
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Google Buzz
  • LinkedIn
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • PDF
  • Google Bookmarks
  • email

One thought on “Emergency Relief

Comments are closed.